cozymeal-logo-brand_rzcfc7.png
Reviews

 

 

 

 

06/29/2021 Lovely experience!! Would recommend, Joined the class for a date night experience and must say Chef John is superior at what he does. From the first course to the very end Chef John had us enjoying our time with great knowledge, great laughs and even greater food. Will be joining him again soon. Thank you Chef John, “Buen Provecho”!

06/07/2021 Chef John was so knowledgeable! We had a great time and learned so much! I’ve already scheduled another class…and I’ll take notes this time! Thanks Chef!

05/20/2021 John was very knowledgeable and our meal tasted great!

05/09/2021 Chef John was the most amazing cook! Everything he made was beyond delicious and he taught us so much! He was very accommodating with everything from dietary restrictions to coming to our home! HIGHLY recommend John!!

02/28/2021 Chef John was absolutely amazing! Not only was the seafood great but he has a wonderful personality! It felt like he was family. Me and my mother had a great experience and learned lots of new ways to cook as well, we loved him! Can’t wait to book again!

02/18/2021 Chef John cooked for us a great meal! It was a great experience, we really had fun. John is a great host and fun to be around! Highly recommended!!!

10/20/2020 John was great. I have done similar type experiences locally, and pre-pandemic so wasn't sure what to expect in this setting. John's home setup provided a level of kitchen intimacy to see styles and techniques which I can't wait to use. Homemade caesar dressing was great and super easy so can't wait to see if my wife will give it a try herself. Also, the way he cooked the pork carnitas with the orange juice was a new technique for me as it is one of my favorite taco proteins. Nice to meet you John and thoroughly enjoyed.

09/09/2020 Great evening with Chef John. Food was amazing, we learned lots of tips and tricks, and great conversation!

07/05/2019 Rave reviews for John! John cooked a delicious meal for my husband and I to celebrate my husband's birthday and all was perfection. He spoke to me several times before the event to ensure all my special requests would be met and happily agreed to make modifications to the on-line menu. He arrived early with all the cooking tools and food needed and was courteous and professional throughout. Every course was delicious--beginning with a tomato-based pasta fagioli soup that had just the right kick, a Caeser salad with fresh parmesan and home-made croutons, a perfectly prepared steak putanesca, parmesan potatoes and broccoli and ending with bananas foster. We would rate the food a 10 out of 10 and would definitely book with Cozymeal again.

07/05/2019 Great caterer. Great variety. Delicious food.

07/05/2019 I have had the pleasure and honor of dining on Chef John’s cuisine for many years. I have also ordered his food to dine on at home. Chef John’s creations are both innovative and delicious. If there was a 10 star rating, he would be 10+. I love everything he makes from soup to salad to entrees. His vegan tuna and egg salad are over the top! His soups are amazing. I can’t express how wonderful his food is!

07/05/2019 I am very fortunate to have experienced Chef Johns cooking a number of times. He is extremely creative. Each time I truly enjoyed the meals. I would highly recommend Chef John and would be happy to eat anything he cooks.

 

07/05/2019 I love the wonderful healthy healing food that chef john creates. It has nurtured me and taught me how to eat well and stay balanced. This is a 5-star chef.

07/05/2019 I met John in the early 90’s when he was a restaurant manager in downtown Miami. John served amazing lunches cafeteria style. There was always a line at the door, where he often greeted the crowd with his warm personality. He cooked several daily specials that always sold out, but my favorite was the hand carved sandwiches. I asked him if I could buy several pounds of his delicious potato salad (it was better than homemade) to take to a party, he quickly obliged and he soon was cooking for a birthday dinner party at my house. John prepared fajitas with all of the traditional sides. Beans, nachos, quesadillas, all perfectly spiced. My cousin enjoyed the meal so much that she hired John on the spot to cook for her New Years Eve party in 1993 and he has continued through 2019! The New Years menu changes annually. Each year tops the previous year with a buffet of creative dishes, but a standout lamb chop appetizer remains a constant. Shrimp (cocktail or coconut), broiled salmon, beef tenderloin, potato pancakes, poke bowls, beef kabobs, there are just too many fabulous items to remember. Always served beautifully and well prepared. John and his staff always provide excellent service and high quality, delicious food with loads of creativity. 5 stars all the way. I can’t wait to see his menu this year, in addition to the lamb chops!

06/26/2019 John is a great chef and his cookbooks are great!

06/12/2019 Chef John helped me improve my healthy habits on food with lots of tips on detox and culinary secrets I would have never thought possible in just one lesson with him. His expertise was much beyond what I first expected and would like to come again for a second one soon. Thanks for your devotion to this wonderful art.

Reviews

July 10, 2020

Hi John,

 

I wanted to let you know the food you sent was scrumptious and was like comfort food during this time of home isolation.

I love the convenience of having prepared healthy meals which freed up a lot of my time to spend quality time with family, work on home projects, etc. I lost weight with ease of eating your fresh healthy meals and it gave me nutrients to provide sustained energy without feeling weighed down. My blood pressure also lowered to healthy readings. I love that the food is healthy and I see a difference in my skin from eating healthy and I would highly recommend your meals to anyone.

My friends and family noticed the difference from last December to now and the weight loss and said I look great and asked me what had I been doing! Just wanted to give you a big thanks for making your food available by home delivery

to people and arrives fast after placing an order! I plan to reorder again and recommend your food delivery service!

Angela 

Maryland

April 11, 2014

 

Chef John changed my life!  I was an uncertain cook, with a husband and stepdaughter who were not only very health conscious, but extremely picky.  With Chef John’s help, I have become a confident cook, totally in control of my kitchen, and both my husband and stepdaughter are satisfied – and even giving me compliments.

 

My journey with Chef John began when we went to the Regency Spa.  We couldn’t believe how delicious vegan food could be!  With his artfully designed presentations and delicious meals, I lost 17 pounds in just 6 weeks, and was never hungry.

 

When circumstances closed the Regency, we decided to hire Chef John to cook for us privately, and serve us in a Florida hotel.  This experience was another unqualified success.  He tailor made meals for the three of is, taking into consideration our health, tastes, and allergies.  The food was varied, well cooked, and very healthy.  At times, we simply asked Chef to cook at my ailing mother’s house, twenty miles away from our hotel.  He always willingly complied.  In fact, after cooking for us and some of our cousins, Chef developed quite a reputation with our relatives, who, like us, couldn’t believe how wonderful vegan food could be.  I should also add that Chef also prepared some nonvegan meals that my relatives requested.

 

After my second Florida experience, I decided to try cooking myself.  But, as a person who hadn’t really cooked in several years, I needed lessons.  So we hired Chef John to teach me in Chicago for six days.  The result was, again, a tremendous success.  Chef helped me to reorganize my kitchen, replacing lots of useless pots and utensils with a few wonderful ones.  He taught me to use machines from the food processor through a mandolin.  I learned how to choose, safely chop, and use vegetables and fruits.  Healthy staples have replaced my oil and fat free stock.  My spices are fresh, and up to date.

 

Working together, Chef developed over thirty recipes – in only six days – that I could do comfortably.  This is a remarkable feat, given the varied tastes of my family.  In addition to standard vegan specials, he also explored Indian and Thai food, leaving me with wonderful recipes.

 

Remarkably, we actually threw three parties during our six days together, with a total of 31 guests.  Friends’ husbands who were committed meat eaters left marveling at how tasty vegan cooking was.  I have shared recipes with friends. But best of all, since Chef left, I have been regularly cooking breakfast, lunch, and dinner – all without sacrificing my life style.

 

I also need to comment on how wonderful Chef John is to have around.  He is a great person, with many experiences and stories to tell.  He can entertain a baby, teenagers, or octogenarians with equal skill.  A great guy at a party!  Even my restaurant-owning friend talked about what a talented fellow he was.

 

I am so grateful to him for changing my life.  He is a remarkably talented and humane human being.

 

 

Peggy Goldberg

Chicago, Illinois